MINUTES

MEETING OF THE SAN DIEGO METROPOLITAN TRANSIT SYSTEM SPECIAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS

April 06, 2023

[Clerk's note: Except where noted, public, staff and board member comments are paraphrased. The full comment can be heard by reviewing the recording at the <u>MTS website</u>.]

1. Roll Call

Vice Chair Whitburn called the Board meeting to order at 8:31 a.m. A roll call sheet listing Board member attendance is attached.

2. Public Comments

Mary Davis – Provided a verbal statement to the Board during the meeting. Davis stated their opposition against Nathan Fletcher and requested a video format for meetings.

CLOSED SESSION:

The Board convened to Closed Session at 8:36 a.m.

3. Closed Session – Conference with Legal Counsel – Existing Litigation Pursuant to California Government Code Section 54956.9(d)(1)

Grecia Figueroa v Nathan Fletcher, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System, et al. San Diego Superior Court Case No. 37-2023-00012828-CU-OE-CTL

The Board reconvened to Open Session at 10:43 a.m.

Karen Landers, General Counsel, reported the following oral report of final actions taken in Closed Session: The Board received a report from legal counsel and gave instructions and authorized a statement of the Board that will be delivered by Vice Chair Whitburn.

ADJOURNMENT

4. Next Meeting Date

The next regularly scheduled Board meeting is April 20, 2023 at 9am.

[Clerk's note: The April 20, 2023 Board meeting was subsequently changed to begin at 8:00am.]

5. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:44 a.m.

/S/ Stephen Whitburn Chairperson San Diego Metropolitan Transit System

Filed by:

Approved as to form:

/S/ Dalia Gonzalez Clerk of the Board San Diego Metropolitan Transit System /S/ Karen Landers

General Counsel San Diego Metropolitan Transit System

Attachment: Roll Call Sheet

SAN DIEGO METROPOLITAN TRANSIT SYSTEM SPECIAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING ROLL CALL

MEETING OF (DATE):	April 6, 2023	CALL TO ORDER (TIME): 8:31am		
RECESS:		RECONVENE:		
CLOSED SESSION:	8:36am	RECONVENE:	10:43am	
PUBLIC HEARING:		RECONVENE:		
ORDINANCES ADOPTED:		ADJOURN:	10:44am	

JURISDICTION BOARD MEMBER		ALTERNATE		PRESENT (TIME ARRIVED)	ABSENT (TIME LEFT)	
City of Chula Vista	Chavez	\boxtimes	Cardenas		8:31am	10:43am
City of Chula Vista	McCann		Cardenas		ABSENT	ABSENT
City of Coronado	Donovan	\boxtimes	Duncan		8:31am	10:43am
County of San Diego			Vargas		ABSENT	ABSENT
City of El Cajon	Goble	\boxtimes	Ortiz		8:31am	10:43am
City of Imperial Beach	Leyba-Gonzalez	\boxtimes	Aguirre		8:31am	8:36am
City of La Mesa	Dillard	\boxtimes	Arapostathis		8:34am	10:43am
City of Lemon Grove	Gastil	\boxtimes	Mendoza		8:31am	10:43am
City of National City	Bush	\boxtimes	Rodriguez		8:34am	10:43am
City of Poway	Frank		Pepin	\boxtimes	8:31am	10:43am
City of San Diego	Montgomery Steppe	\boxtimes	Von Wilpert		8:31am	10:43am
City of San Diego	Elo-Rivera	\boxtimes	LaCava		8:31am	10:43am
City of San Diego	Gloria		Moreno	\boxtimes	8:34am	10:43am
City of San Diego	Whitburn (Vice-Chair)	\boxtimes	Campillo		8:31am	10:43am
City of Santee	Hall	\boxtimes	Koval		8:31am	10:43am

SIGNED BY THE CLERK OF THE BOARD:

/S/ Jan Gardetto