Advisory Committee

The Taxicab Advisory Committee:

  • Provides feed back on taxicab matters destined for Board action
  • Reviews For-Hire Vehicle Administration annual budget
  • Provides recommendations to MTS Board to promote taxicab industry
  • Reviews vehicle inspection criteria, process, results, and rankings
  • Reviews the annual fee schedule
  • Approves maximum taxicab rates of fare for the City of San Diego and all other regulated cities
  • Comments on MTS’s work program concerning taxicab matters

Meetings are held four times a year in the Board Room at the James R. Mills Building (1255 Imperial Ave. Ste 1000, San Diego, 92101) and are open to the public.

The Committee has 16 members.  One representative of the MTS Board of Directors, appointed annually by the Board, serves as Chair of the Taxicab Committee.  The San Diego Tourism Authority, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority, San Diego Convention Center, San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Association, and Cross-Border X-press each appoint one representative.  The taxicab owners elect five owners to represent them, and currently there are five lease driver representatives.


Sean Elo-Rivera, Chair
City of San Diego Councilmember and MTS Board Member                  

George Abraham
Owner - Category B

Marc Nichols
San Diego County Regional Airport Authority                  

Daryl Mayekawa
San Diego Convention Center                     

Nancy Gudiño
Cross Border X-Press

Michael Trimble
San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Association

Nasser Tehrani
N.A.T. Cab Co., Owner - Category A

Antonio Hueso
Owner - Category B

Brian Hilemon
San Diego Tourism Authority                      

Akbar Majid
SDYC Holdings, LLC, Owner - Category A

Edna Rains
San Diego County Sheriff's Licensing Division Nonvoting Member

Hamid Amini
Transiran USA Inc. - Category B

Alfred Banks
Lease Driver Representative

David Tasem
Lease Driver Representative

Guillermo Morquecho
Lease Driver Representative

Mikaiil Hussein
UTWSD, Lease Driver Representative

Margo Tanguay
Lease Driver Representative

Austin Shepherd
San Diego County Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures Nonvoting Member